966 (Wallingford) Squadron


The Air Cadet Organisation not only offers a great range of activities but also provides training and qualifications useful in later life.

The academic training you will undertake as an air cadet varies greatly from what you learn in school. Training starts simple to allow you to adjust into our training program, the lessons being taught often being practical or requiring involvement from the audience.

Below is an outline of the current training framework used by the Air Cadet Organisation:

When you first join us you will be known as a Junior Cadet, this period lasts about 6 – 8 weeks and is designed to give you an introduction to the Air Training Corps including our history and how to do drill effectively. During this period you will be issued with your uniform.  At the end of this period you will be enrolled into the ATC and which point you become a Second Class Cadet.


First Class Cadet Badge


Following enrollment you will start training to become a First Class Cadet. Subjects covered will be:


  • History of the ATC
  • History of the RAF
  • Basic Principles of Airmanship
  • History of Flight
  • Map Reading
  • Basic Radio Communications
  • Initial Expedition Training
  • Heart Start
  • Drill



Leading Cadet BadgeOn completion of your First Class Cadet syllabus you will be able to take part in most activities that the Air Cadet Organisation has to offer. To ensure you get the most out of these activities the First Class Cadets undertake training towards becoming a Leading Cadet. This training will cover the principles of navigation, learning how a jumbo jet stays in the air and how helicopters fly.


The subjects you will cover at Leading Cadet level are:

  • Basic Navigation with a Map and Compass
  • Principles of Flight
  • Airmanship Knowledge



Senior Cadet BadgeOn completion of the Leading Cadet syllabus you will move on to the Senior Cadet training program. At this level the study becomes more challenging involving subjects such as Jet Engine Propulsion and Air Navigation. Currently cadets must pass 3 exams from the subjects below:



  • Air Navigation
  • Pilot Navigation
  • Satellite & Data Communications
  • Jet Engine Propulsion
  • Principles of Airframes
  • Advanced Radio & Radar
  • Aircraft Handling & Flying Techniques
  • Air Power
  • Rocketry Propulsion
  • Military Aircraft Systems
  • Piston Engine Propulsion



Master Air Cadet BadgeThe Master Air Cadet is the highest academic classification. To complete this level of training a cadet a cadet must have already gained Senior Cadet status, be 16 years old, and to have sat and passed three more exams from the above list. Master Air Cadet has its own unique badge for the brassard which shows an ATC Falcon surrounded by laurel leaves.




Instructor Cadet LanyardA Master Air Cadet may, on the recommendation of their OC, apply to attend the Cadet Methods of Instruction Course. Successful completion of the course and a practical assessment will entitle them to wear a yellow lanyard over the left shoulder, and be referred to as ‘Instructor Cadet’.